STC Summit 2012 wrapup – STC12

I’ve spent the last four days at the STC 2012, the annual conference of the Society for Technical Communication. What an amazing conference, and what great people! All the sessions I attended were of an excellent standard. I learned a lot, as you’ll find out if you read my notes. 😉 The people who came to my own presentation were responsive, appreciative and engaged. I met so many technical communicators who are enthusiastic, friendly, professional and skilled. This conference is a must.

There were around 750 attendees at the conference this year. A big vote of thanks to all the conference organisers who worked so hard to make this event a great success. Special thanks to Paul Mueller and Lloyd Tucker for piloting me and the other speakers through the preparations with such style. To all the attendees: I loved saying hallo to everyone that I met, I wish I’d managed to meet everyone, and I hope we all get a chance to meet again soon. Roll on #stc13. 🙂

This post wraps up a series on the conference, with links to my previous posts and a couple of photographs. I hope the posts are useful and the photos fun!

The posts

These posts contain my notes from the sessions I attended:

Kai Weber has written some great summaries:

Let me know if you see any more bloggers writing about the STC Summit!

The pics

A few of us went on a tour of the Frank Lloyd Wright museum before the conference started. Here’s a picture of Barrie, Gina, Ellis, me, and Peter at the Wright home and first studio:

Technical writers tangoed while the Rough Drafts jammed on Tuesday night:

More links

About Sarah Maddox

Technical writer, author and blogger in Sydney

Posted on 24 May 2012, in STC, technical writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Thank you Sarah for blogging about the STC conference. I’ve been following all your posts and thoroughly enjoyed them.

  2. Thank you for blogging about the conference. I was unable to attend this year, but really appreciated reading about everything. Thank you!!

  3. Hallo pidgeperry and anonymous,

    It’s a pleasure! Thanks for letting me know that the posts are useful. 🙂

    Cheers, Sarah

  4. Thank you, Sarah, this is definitely STC12 blog central, the mother of all conference blog posts! I was a bit slower than you, but have recently added two posts to my coverage:

    What I learned from my pattern recognition talk at STC12 at https://kaiweber.wordpress.com/2012/05/26/what-i-learned-from-my-pattern-recognition-talk-at-stc12/

    Leah Guren’s Tales of Terror: Avoiding Project Disasters at STC12 at https://kaiweber.wordpress.com/2012/05/26/leah-gurens-tales-of-terror-avoiding-project-disasters-at-stc12/

  5. Thank you Sarah! Excellent recollection and capturing of our fine STC Summit 2012. It is my distinct pleasure to meet you in person and share these experiences.

    • Hallo Barrie
      It was so nice meeting you at STC Summit and sharing some laughs as well as learnings together. What a pleasure! I hope to see you again soon.
      Cheers, Sarah

  1. Pingback: STC Summit 2012 in slides, posts and Pinterest boards | Firehead

  2. Pingback: 6 ways I enjoyed #STC12 (summit wrap-up) « Kai's Tech Writing Blog

  3. Pingback: Twitter Use at #STC12 Summit « Infosec Communicator

  4. Pingback: Blogging, Blogging Everywhere | STC Technical Communication Summit 2012

  5. Pingback: Stay Energized by Sharing With Your Colleagues! | STC Rochester Chapter

  6. Pingback: Blogging, Blogging Everywhere | STC Technical Communication Summit 2013

  7. Pingback: How do you blog at conferences « ffeathers

  8. Pingback: Perspectives on Summit 2012, Wendy Ross | STC Rochester Chapter

  9. Pingback: Reports from STC Summit 2012 – Technical Writing World

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.