Google Wave in Confluence wiki pages

I’ve just come across a new plugin developed by 224 team. It provides a Confluence macro that lets you embed a Google Wave into a Confluence wiki page. I’ve just got back from holiday, so I haven’t played around with the plugin much yet. But I’m blogging about it so that more people can try it out too. It’s cool to see this sort of development happening and even to get involved in the early stages.

A friendly warning: The plugin is pretty new, so it’s best to try it out on a test installation of Confluence.

To install the plugin:

  1. Download the JAR file from the link provided on the 224 team page (at time of writing, the link is here) and save it somewhere on your computer.
  2. Open Confluence in your browser and go to “Confluence Admin”.
  3. Click “Plugins” in the left-hand menu.
  4. Click “Browse” and find the JAR file that you saved in step 1. Select the file.
  5. Click “Upload”. You should now see the “wave” plugin listed on the page, in the middle and slightly to the right of the words “Installed Plugins”.

To embed a wave onto a wiki page:

  1. Create a new page or edit an existing page.
  2. Add the {wave} macro, including the URL of the wave you want to embed. You can add the macro by typing the wiki markup or by using the Confluence macro browser. The format is:
    {wave:url=my.wave.url}

I decided to add my wave within a {panel} macro, to make it look a little neater. Here’s the code I used (but it’s a private wave, so you’ll need a different wave URL):

{panel}
{wave:url=https://wave.google.com/wave/#restored:wave:googlewave.com!w%252BFelxosoIC.2}
{panel}

Once I’d added the wave to my Confluence page, I replied to one of the segments in the wave on the Confluence page. See the segment that starts with “I’m replying via the Confluence plugin”:

Google Wave on Confluence wiki pages

Google Wave on Confluence wiki pages

Then I had a look at the same wave in the original Google Wave client. Ta da! My reply appears there too:

Google Wave in Confluence wiki pages

Google Wave in Confluence wiki pages

So you can take part in a wave from within Confluence. Awesome. Once I’ve found a chocolate plugin, why would I ever need to leave Confluence? 😉

The developers of the Confluence Wave plugin say that they have great plans for the plugin. They’re inviting discussion on the Confluence feature request and on the 224 wave page. If you have a Google Wave account, you can even join the 224 team wave. Fun!

Update 3 December 2009: Ricardo dropped a comment on this post with an interesting question: “… how smooth is the experience of logging into embedded wave?” So I tried it. I added a private wave to a wiki page while logged in to Google Wave. Then I logged out of Google Wave via the Google web UI. When I refreshed the Confluence page, it offered me the usual Google Wave login screen. I entered my username and password, and the content of the wave appeared immediately. Smooth. (Click the image below to see a larger version.)

Google Wave in Confluence wiki pages

About Sarah Maddox

Technical writer, author and blogger in Sydney

Posted on 1 November 2009, in atlassian, Confluence, technical writing, wiki and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. This is really excellent. Do you have a test Confluence page hosted somewhere with a test wave? Or do you think you could make one, just so we could experience the wave within Confluence? 🙂

  2. Hallo Jaanus

    That’s a cool idea. I don’t have a public instance of Confluence myself. I’ve posted the idea on our intranet, to see what people think about installing the Wave plugin on a public Atlassian sandbox version of Confluence. There are a couple of concerns around security, and the fact that the wave would very quickly become quite long and unwieldy.

    I’ll let you know if we do add the plugin somewhere that’s publicly available.

    Cheers
    Sarah

  3. “the wave would very quickly become quite long and unwieldy” .. you just described many comment threads on confluence.atlassian.com 😉 it would be a cool test case for Wave too, see what features it has or should have to cope with this.

  4. LOL “you just described many comment threads on confluence.atlassian.com”. Touché 🙂

  5. wondering how authentication works here… Does wave have to be public in order for this to work? If not, how smooth is the experience of logging into embedded wave?

    thanks!! Great work, BTW.

    Ricardo.

    • Hallo Ricardo

      That’s a very interesting question! My waves are private, so there’s no need for the wave to be public. I hadn’t experimented with the login experience, so I just tried it right now. It’s quite smooth. If you’re viewing the wiki page and you’re not logged in to Google Wave, then you see the normal Google Wave login prompt on the Confluence page. Once you’ve logged in, you can see the content of the wave. I’ve updated my post with a screenshot.

      Cheers, Sarah

      • How will i get a login screen of google wave in confluence….is there any specific url to get a google wave login screen in confluence directly without logging into google wave using normal browsers.Please help me Ricardo

  6. Hello,

    Will this plugin work with the just now released Google Wave for Google Application users? Can you advise on how one might login to google apps via the login link of this plugin?

    Thanks!
    Matt

  7. I believe the Unawave extension for Google Wave is something you should look at to drop into any website (not just confluence). Google has made it much easier now.

  1. Pingback: Partial Recall » Links for 2009-11-03

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.