Today’s laugh from a tech writer who reviews a lot of code

I just sent an email message to a colleague, which looked something like this

Hallo Sally
Yes, please do send me those docs for review.
Have a great Monday!
Cheers
Sarah

My brain told me I should indent lines 2 and 3 in the above message. That made me laugh, because I think the reason my brain said “indent, indent”, was that I’ve been reviewing a lot of code recently and indentation is key for code readability. On the other hand, I could be harking back to the indented style of letter writing. Or perhaps I should add more spacing between the lines…

How to over-analyse a simple message. 🙂

(In the above sample, I’ve changed the name of my colleague and the content of the first line.)

About Sarah Maddox

Technical writer, author and blogger in Sydney

Posted on 13 February 2017, in technical writing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Just add two spaces after every sentence. (Sits back and waits for the flames.) 😉

Leave a Reply

