Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

The Australian Cultural Evening (ACE) is a not-to-be-missed event at the annual WritersUA conference. I was privileged to attend the ACE during WritersUA 2009. Tony usually writes about each event in hilarious detail (here’s his report from last year) so I’ll restrain myself to a few words and some photographs.

The ACE is restricted to Australians, erstwhile Australians, would-be Australians, anyone who has any Australian connection and people who have no connection whatsoever. This year there was an added restriction: “No kiwis!”πŸ˜‰

Another term for the ACE might be “pub crawl”, interspersed with a few mandatory “Aussie Aussie Aussie Oy Oy Oy” chants. It’s fun. Do it!

We started off at the Westin Hotel. Note the “Aussie Aussie Aussie” t-shirt:

Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

Me see no evil:

Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

Our next stop was the Blarney Stone Pub:

Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

Birthday boy:

Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

The flag, aptly poised next to the draught beers ad:

Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

Here I am (Matt D, this one’s for youπŸ˜‰ ) with two ACE gents:

Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

Australian Cultural Evening at WritersUA 2009

I left at this point. I was exhausted. My presentation had happened that day, the Westin had creaked and groaned in the wind all the previous night, and I’d slept very little. Returning from the Blarney Stone, I counted myself lucky to find my hotel room again, after getting mislaid in the South Tower while my room is in the North Tower.

I believe the party went onπŸ˜‰ I’m looking forward to reading other people’s accounts. Thanks to everyone for a great evening!

About Sarah Maddox

Technical writer, author and blogger in Sydney

Posted on 3 April 2009, in WritersUA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

