My Prickly Paperbark tree

This is a special edition of the ffeathers blog, to report the spectacular growth of my Prickly Paperbark tree since I last blogged about it approximately a month ago.

On 13 April, the tree was 172 cm. Today it’s 188 cm — grown 16 cm in five weeks! It’s now over 6 foot and taller than I am. I planted it in August last year, so it’s about nine months old.

Alas, it’s not only the Paperbark that has been growing. I spent a couple of hours this morning removing the Asthma Weed and Wandering Dew that had draped themselves all over the tree and its neighbourhood. Don’t gardens ever take a rest period in Sydney?

Just to reassure anyone who might be concerned about the Old Man Banksia I planted at the same time as the Paperbark: It’s doing fine too. It hasn’t grown so spectacularly since my last post a month ago, so it doesn’t warrant a special edition😉

My Prickly Paperbark tree

Here’s a closeup of the trunk, with a peg for perspective:

My Prickly Paperbark tree

About Sarah Maddox

Technical writer, author and blogger in Sydney

Posted on 18 May 2008, in trees and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

